Mealtime Miracles

28 Apr

I often find myself anticipating the big moments. You know, things like an upcoming gala, holiday seasons, or pre-arranged moments when everything is meant to change. But reading last week’s post from Chef Trish Larkin, I was struck by how rooted her values are in the present moment. It’s inspired me to share from my own values: the ritual of breaking bread.

Image: David Mulder Flickr

Image: David Mulder Flickr

I’m a Christian, and hold it as my rooted point in a universe full of energy and many incredible platforms of spiritual expression. And while I don’t often integrate my personal religious beliefs into Sister Leadership, I did have such a lovely ‘ah ha’ moment in church the other day and I wanted to share it.

The ‘ah ha’ came from the reading of Luke 24:13-35 New Testament. It’s about breaking bread and gathering for meals. The story tells of two disciples walking along the road to Emmaus after Jesus’ death and Jesus appears to the them. Only while eating together that evening do the disciples recognize Him.

This Bible story reminds me that spirituality in our lives doesn’t necessarily derive from the epiphanies and orchestrated celebrations. In my opinion, it’s in the daily rituals like sharing meals, and in often underappreciated extraordinary moments like sharing a conversation at the dinner table. Those are times to pause, savour and connect, when we share a sensual and satisfying experience as a group.  And in that sharing, we can touch a long-standing tradition of relationship building and congregation.

No wonder Jesus didn’t appear atop some mountain to look down over thousands of people and share His final moments on earth! Well, I personally think there’s far greater power in the personal and intimate. To me, the way He choose to appear is a message in itself.

Spirituality is in the day to day moments of appreciating a meal together (making the food, enjoying the smells and flavours, cleaning together, talking around the table) and the energy and love the chef radiates into the layers of food prepared for us. It seems that in our busy lives, families should meet the challenge of sitting down together to break bread and hear about the day everyone has had.

I believe that that ritual is timeless, and rooted in our culture to invite deep moments of spiritual living, whatever it may mean to you.

How do you feel about the small moments? What routine behaviour holds deep meaning in your life?

One Response to “Mealtime Miracles”

  1. MC Lessard May 1, 2015 at 06:32 #

    I totally agree Cam. Even if our family has shrunk, I make it a point of having dinner with my youngest almost every evening. That’s the time when we connect, have a few laughs and get to see each others’ eyeballs!

Leave a Reply

