The “I am” Affirmation and Gratitude for “the Now”

10 Nov
Gratitude_Remembrance_Day
A pause and moment of gratitude for Remembrance Day.

I’ve previously blogged about thought leaders like Napoleon Hill, author of the legendary “Think and Grow Rich,” who talks about how feeling an emotion in your body is the elixir to manifesting your success (whatever outcome success represents for you).

Just as Napoleon Hill is focused upon the emotional power housed in our bodies, other remarkable folks such as Wayne Dyer and Louise Hay embrace the practice of using daily affirmations of gratitude to trigger the unconscious mind – the motherboard of all our emotional responses and actions.

Louise_Hay_Gratitude_QuoteGratitude, following our SQ theme of Self-awareness, enables us to create a resourceful state of confidence when overcoming our fears. The greatest time of personal growth is when we are dealing with the unknown and stretching our capacity to achieve what seems to be impossible. A catalyst for this change is the gratitude for and celebration of how much we have already accomplished.

So here is my twist for today’s post. Building upon the grea

Louise_Hay_Living_in_the_Moment

t works these folks have given us, I recommend another way of using affirmations so that the body and mind are striving as one for whatever success you’re chasing. It has to do with using the “I am” phrase.

Last week I experienced a powerful moment of transition when I was working with my coach, MC Lessard. I realized that my goal setting and affirmation creation were always future paced – meaning that I was overlooking the present moment.

My big moment of awareness (thank you MC!) was when I realized that my affirmations are grounded in my body more powerfully when I acknowledge how resourceful I am right now. By prefacing my affirmation with self-acknowledgement, I create a powerful and resourceful state. From this resourceful place of being, my unconscious and conscious minds more easily align with the affirmation.

Wayne Dyer speaks about using daily Neville Goddard’s affirmations that I’ve heard before and find powerful:

“I am well; I am perfect health.

I am in possession of unlimited energy.

I am prosperous.

I am love, and I am in a loving relationship.

I am in perfect command of my life.

I am the miracle I have been waiting for.”

Following MC’s insights into focusing on “the now,” I modified this really great advice for my own life. It goes like this:

Building on my capacity to be physically stronger by going to the gym twice a week, I am well; I am perfect health.

As my church celebrated another successful community gathering, I am in possession of unlimited energy.

As the asset of my rental property grow, I am prosperous.

Thankful for the love of my life partner, I am love, and I am in a loving relationship.

Louise_Hay_Love_QuoteIt’s been just over a week since I’ve been playing with these affirmations prefaced with a moment of realization that I am perfect just the way I am. Let us know how yours goes. Till then, I am, in this moment, grateful for my SQ mentors: MC, Napolean, Wayne, and Louise (some of whose beautiful quotes we’re sharing).

What do you wish to acknowledge yourself for and how can you bridge this into your next goal?

How does tapping into this resourceful place empower you to focus on “the now?”

How does this approach of formulating goals and affirmations work for you?”

Share with us in the comments if you want to join in.

Till next week,

Cam

P.S. Here’s living it through and through – watch how this young lady does it every morning!


Camille Boivin is founder of Sister Leadership, certified in EQi 2.0 and EQ360, a master practitioner of Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP), has been coaching high-level women and men for over six years, and is now opening her expertise to those emerging in business. Camille pulls her blog topics from her unique coaching approach that combines her training as a EQi 2.0 and EQ360 certified facilitator with the dig-deeper tools of NLP.

Get in touch here if you’d like to talk with Cam about group or one-on-one coaching, and EQ assessments. With the miracle of Skype and telephones – distance is no issue!

One Response to “The “I am” Affirmation and Gratitude for “the Now””

  1. SQ Institute (@sqico) November 13, 2014 at 14:02 #

    Affirmations are beneficial as a way of reinforcing the results of SQ. However, affirmations in themselves are insufficient as a means of activating or experiencing SQ. That’s a deeper process involving an awakening beyond the thinking mind, not merely an exercise of the thinking mind, as in the case of affirmations. For more about the principles of effective SQ methodology see this article http://sqi.co/ego-and-soul/

Leave a Reply

