Problem Solving from a Spiritual Perspective

11 Feb

There’s lot written about problem solving in the workplace, but today I want to take a different approach. I’m going to share with you a bizarre story, and the bottom line is this: to solve a problem, you need to be wide open to that bigger picture called intuition.

What’s that bizarre story I’m talking about? It all goes back to that moment when I was lost in the Gatineau Forest with my nephew and the sun was starting to set. It was a moment of desperation. But even more so, it was a moment that demanded that the problem be solved.

This week's Spiritual Intelligence theme is
This week’s Spiritual Intelligence theme is Problem Solving

From a Spiritual Intelligence perspective, problem solving means the ability to find solutions by focusing on the bigger picture. It is the ability to understand what else (community, faith, religion, life purpose) has an impact on the decision making process.

We’d been lost in the forest for hours. One moment we were on the path, and the next we were somehow way off without any path, person or direction in sight. It’s one thing to go on a nature walk, it’s quite another to feel entrapped by the towering trees and total lack of direction. As the time passed and I realized we weren’t going to solve the problem simply through aimless walking, I decided to tap into the bigger picture. You might say I was feeling rather desperate. I tried to quiet my panic, and instead focused on that which I believe is bigger than us and my sense of spirit. Through a prayer, I asked for help. I put my confidence in an outside force that this was going to work out somehow.

When we have the confidence to problem solve, whatever the situation (board room, client meeting, middle of the forest…), once you find the trust and belief that something or someone somewhere has your back – you become empowered. I don’t mean that they’ll swoop in and rescue the situation, but rather that you have a sense of support, and a deeper confidence. The deeper the confidence, the better the ability to problem solve.

ForestFor me it was giving the situation over to God. I’m not saying that’s what you need to do, but what if there was something bigger than yourself you could call upon? Maybe the wisdom passed on from your ancestors, or the energy of the women in your network, etc. You define that bigger picture.

What happened next as we were in that forest. A squirrel appeared. For some reason, I decided “Hey! Let’s follow it!” which is exactly what we did. That squirrel lead us around, and eventually took us to a path. We followed the path and exited the park. Bizarre but true. It was a problem solving leap of faith.

Now it’s your turn: When have you taken a big leap of faith, or given up the problem to some greater force? Feel free to comment below, and don’t worry – we won’t judge your use of intuition or connection. There are aspects of ourselves that the business world doesn’t always foster, such as that intuition and connection. Here on this blog, it’s all about that side of the success story.

So go on and leave a comment. I’d love to hear your stories!

Till next week!

Cam

One Response to “Problem Solving from a Spiritual Perspective”

  1. Judy Levine February 11, 2014 at 10:29 #

    What’s with the beer commercial at the end of your lovely spiritual story?  Were you drunk when you got lost?  Are you promoting to drink Corona beer?

    Better have your Tech guy look into this concerning the ads that follow your story?!

    I hate to see this ad at the end of your Sister Leadership spiritual content; not a great idea. Providing feedback to my dear friend.            Judy “Make” Yourself A Great Day

           

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

