Stacking Anchors for Stress Tolerance

22 Jul

AnchoringHow you cope with stress, otherwise known as your stress tolerance, is quite specific to your personality type. (We’ve talked about DISC before, which is great at breaking down your habits and your personality aspects.) So say, for instance, your stress tolerance reflects a personality type that is cautious and reflective, this can create quite a bit of stress in the act of over-thinking. It’s good to address the issue of stress in reflection of how you cope. That’s why it can be incredibly useful to get a DISC profile and understand work with a coach to help you understand where you sit on the variations in personality, and what that means. However, one thing that can help many personality types cope better with stress is anchoring in the moment.  Last week, we saw an example of this in Sandra’s interview, and this week we’ll elaborate a little more on that anchoring in this post.

My own stress tolerance is lower than many other people’s, and that’s because I am the example of being cautious and reflective (i.e. over-thinking it!).  So here’s a personal story along those lines. Maybe you’ve experienced your own moments of dread or worry about the future. If so I’d love to hear your story in return and how you managed to work it through.

We all have high and lows in our personal lives, in particular with our relationships, and just recently I was facing a situation that was causing quite a bit of stress.  Part of me was judging another person, feeling that they needed to forgive, and yet – really – perhaps I was the one who actually needed to do the forgiving.

Now we’ve jumped a little ahead, because before I reached that realization it took me a awhile to work past the stress reaction. So you know what I did? I began to stack my anchor.

Imagine you are talking with your friends about a situation that happened not too long ago, and really got under your collar. You are describing how you want to move forward from that feeling, get rid of the drama and go to that good place  – a place that is loving, gracious and compassion. (Wouldn’t it be great if we always felt that way?) How is your body in that imagined scenario. What are you hands doing? What is your posture as you get rid of that negative experience and tap into better things?

For me, when I go to that ‘good place’ that clears away the stress, my hands seem to come together in a V shape.  That V shape has been an anchor for me in the past, and I use it to change my mind. It represents a feeling of peace and compassion.

So when I took my stress to my own coach, and we explored this concept of forgiveness, I once again found myself tapping into that established anchor of peace and compassion. In reflection of that relationship and of my experiences, I added love to the equation. Suddenly there was a new layer of my V position of the hands ; there was peace, compassion, and then in that moment, love.

The realization was overwhelming, I had one foot in our world, and another in  somewhere else that is so joyous, some place bigger than we are, and my perspective changed. I realized that maybe that person wasn’t the one who needed to forgive; maybe I needed to be more forgiving.

(Of course, even in that bigger place I felt it was important to ground myself.  In my case, it was about letting the love, compassion and non- judgement flow through from heaven to earth. Sometimes, when we get these moments of heightened of awe, we need to bring breathe back to our human experience. What are your thoughts on that grounding connection?)

And all this from putting my hands together in a V shape. Sometimes an anchor can start as a small reaction to an emotion. Pay attention to that reaction, and tap into it next time you need to go back to that feeling. Then, when you are able, begin laying other positive reactions onto that anchoring movement. Soon you’ll have an excellent tool for coping with stress.

cararesourcesWe have an exercise for you to work through that will help in stacking your anchors. Give it try and let us know what you think. As always, your stories and comments are warmly welcomed. (In fact, they give us a bit of a thrill to read. Thank you to everyone who has already shared stories and who will in the future!) Click here to access the anchor stacking NLP exercise from Sister Leadership.

Till next week,

Cam

Camille Boivin is founder of Sister Leadership, certified in EQi 2.0 and EQ360, a master practitioner of Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP), has been coaching high-level women and men for over six years, and is now opening her expertise to those emerging in business. Camille pulls her blog topics from her unique coaching approach that combines her training as a EQi 2.0 and EQ360 certified facilitator with the dig-deeper tools of NLP.

Get in touch here if you’d like to talk with Cam about group or one-on-one coaching, and EQ assessments. With the miracle of Skype and telephones – distance is no issue!

Leave a Reply

