If The Dress Fits, Wear it?

27 Aug

Remember when you received your first book of fairytales, and how your mom or dad would read the stories about princesses, towers, enchantresses and dragons? Back then fairytales were an incredible escape into fantasy. Who didn’t secretly want to be a princess?

Pic from Lyze Lynch

Let me reveal a little personal truth before moving forward. Today I consider myself a happy, satisfied women in a great relationship and am loving life. But – oh boy – I had to live through several ‘fairytales’ to find this point in my life, many of the trials stemming from bad relationships and neglectful self-perception.

Just one example: My son was three years old (and if you have children, you know what a handful they are at that age!), and I’d just accepted a management job in Montreal. This meant moving away from my parents and siblings, but part of me truly believe that if we uprooted our lives (we, as in my son and my then husband) to a new location, my marriage would improve. I isolated myself by moving – despite it being a very difficult period.

And what happened next?  You can guess, I’m sure. Moving away from my support network did not improve the situation. Instead I counted pennies to make ends while my husband had an affair and stopped helping entirely. Shame overtook me – I was failing in my ‘happily ever after’, and throughout all this I had my young son to watch over and support despite being crushed inside. I felt trapped – trapped in a tower of my own making. It felt like hell.

So we’re exploring these extremely relevant archetypes from fairytales – focusing on Rapunzel in particular. Because ladies, these stories are based on us, and the women we have become from the little girls who read those storybooks and thought only of magic wands and beautiful dresses. We’re the real story – it is the lessons we learn that matter most toward finding that happily ever after.

In the next several weeks we’re going to explore the story of Rapunzel. We’re going to talk about the enchantress who locked up her adopted daughter, about Rapunzel looking out the window at the world, about that long hair she never realized could be used to escape, about Rapunzel’s legacy and children, about that mighty tower – and in doing so we’ll look at new ways of approaching life, leadership and opportunity.

So get ready. We’re going to explore the story – the real story – here at Sister Leadership in the upcoming weeks and beyond. Once upon a time isn’t going to feel so far, far away; in fact, you’re likely going to recognize much of yourself in our upcoming posts.

Keep your eye on this space. (And why not add us to your RSS reader; it just makes life easier, don’t you think?)

Till next time,

Camille

Camille Boivin is founder of Sister Leadership, bringing herknowledge of resilience, perseverance, and changing perception to others. She aspires to  help women explode their success. For more posts and experiences, join Camille at her Sister Leadership page, connect on Twitter, and follow on Facebook. Welcome to the Sister Leadership community!

2 Responses to “If The Dress Fits, Wear it?”

  1. Marie-Claude Lessard August 28, 2012 at 08:16 #

    How brave of you to share your story so openly Cam. Thank you! You also got me really curious about the upcoming posts… I have a feeling it will be a treat to read a bedtime story at the start of my day!

    • sisterleadership September 3, 2012 at 20:15 #

      Love that image – a bedtime story to start the day. Thanks for your support, Marie-Claude.

Leave a Reply

